Topic: South New Brighton Park

Topic type:

Entrance in Beatty Street. Together, Blighs Garden, Bridge Reserve and South New Brighton Park extends almost 3km along the left bank of the lower Avon River/Ōtākaro, an estuarine location that offers unique values to the community.

Bridge Reserve and South New Brighton Park have been referred to historically as Kibblewhite Reserve, Bridge Reserve, Dog Bay, Pleasant Point Domain, Jellicoe Park, and South Brighton Domain. In June 1953, following a public meeting convened by the South Brighton Progress League (later the Residents Association), the Council resolved that the then Pleasant Point Domain and Jellicoe Park be renamed South New Brighton Park. It appears the name was applied to the reserve area from Beatty Street to Ebbtide Street, while the area north of Beatty Street became known as Bridge Reserve. Some people still use the name South Brighton Domain.

 

Related

South New Brighton Reserves Management Plan
Covers Blighs Garden, Bridge Reserve, South New Brighton Park

 

 

Discuss This Topic

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion