Topic: Lyttelton War Memorial

Topic type:

The Lyttelton Fallen Soldiers Memorial was unveiled on April 25th 1923.


The 26 foot cenotaph was designed by a former vicar of Lyttelton, Rev. Canon Coates. The base is made from Halswell blue stone, the structure  is from locally quarried Rapaki stone, and the six panels are of Scotch granite. The two wreaths found on either side of the structure were carved by Mr James Hood. The war memorial was originally known as the Fallen Soldiers' Memorial.

Lord Jellicoe, unveiled the cenotaph on 25 April 1923 in a ceremony that included other notable individuals such as the Minister of Defence, (Sir Heaton Rhodes), the Mayor, (W. T. Lester) and Deputy-Mayor, (Mr M. J. Miller). The unveiling was attend by 2000 members of the public including about 120 returned soldiers and sailors of Lyttelton.

The cenotaph's original location was on the corner of Oxford and London Street, but was deemed to be a traffic hazard and was subsequently moved to Simeon Quay in 1936.   The memorial was badly damaged in the Canterbury earthquakes of 2010 and 2011 and was removed, restored and re-erected as the centrepiece in  Albion Square, the new civic centre for Lyttelton on the corner of London and Canterbury Streets, opened in 2014.

A Roll of Honour of those who died in the Second World War was subsequently added to the base of the monument.


List of names - First World War

 Face one
  • Hildyard Nona Mildred
    (Nursing Sister)
  • Arnold Claude J. -M.M.
  • Baker Henry J.
  • Barnes Leonard C.
  • Bates Clinton M.
  • Bean Roye E.
  • Clarke Arthur W.
  • Coote Philip S.
  • Dobby George T.
  • Duffy Thomas.
  • Edman Herbert L.
  • Green Albert S.
  • Grubb William J.
  • Hawkes Herbert H.
  • Dennis Joseph E.
Face three
  • Lewin Ernest H.
  • Lindsay James D.
  • Mackenzie David A.N.K.
  • Manihera Waitere
  • McLellan Alexander J.
  • McMinn Sydney V.
  • Mitchell Harry T.
  • Moore John R.
  • Olliver Oswald T.
  • Olsen Nelson C.
  • Pace Robert D.
  • Powley John C.
  • Radcliffe Charles E.
  • Rhind Ernest J.
  • Moore William H.
 Face two
  • Halliday Robert A.
  • Harkess Bertie H.
  • Harper Lawrence A.
  • Hewitt Frederick C.
  • Hendry Colin C.
  • Holst Percy E.
  • Irvine Percy K.
  • Jory George L.
  • Jory Percy J.
  • Knowles Frederick
  • Knowles William E.
  • Lambert Bertram S.
  • Lester William A.
  • Lester Norman J.
  • Le Warne Frederick J.
 Face four
  • Rhind Hector
  • Rutherford Duncan
  • Rutledge Joseph W.
  • Retledge George R.
  • Reed Albert E.
  • Smith James R.
  • Smith Wilford K.
  • Steward Doric M.
  • Stenson Norman R.
  • Thomson Alfred
  • Vocan Alland D.
  • Varney Alfred J.
  • Watkins John M.
  • Wilson Adam B.
  • Stewart Royal S.


Fallen Soldiers' Memorial, Lyttelton



LYTTELTON'S WAR MEMORIAL., Press, Volume LIX, Issue 17747, 26 April 1923, Page 10

LYTTELTON NEWS. Press, Volume LXXII, Issue 21961, 9 December 1936, Page 21


Related resources:

Soldier information:

Albion Square:

Discuss This Topic

There are 1 comments in this discussion.

Read and join this discussion

join this discussion